Sing with me now...
Written @ 1:51 am on Friday, Mar. 14, 2003

Ok...I hate to sound like everybody else but Chicago ROCKED MY SOCKS!!! Holy shite that movie was damn good.

Yes, I know, I know it's taken me forever to see it, but hello! Fire, new room, classes, work, evil hell beast as a father...I was distracted!

Anyways...that movie was just what a movie made from a musical should be!! They didn't try to make it normal or hollywood, they stuck with the script and just added things that only flim could add.

I'll always stick with theatre above film but that movie was so close to being as good as it was scary.

Richard Gere wasn't that great at the singing and dancing but acting he was perfect for that character. No complaints against any of the other main characters either.

My only problem was the cell block tango. That is one of my all-time favorite musical numbers (and that's saying something) but it could have been better in the movie. Mya as the lipshitz girl? NO!! That is my favorite part of the song..."artistic differences" ha! ...and she ruined it. Bah. Even Catherine Zeta Jones ruined the last line of her part. "I even realized they were dead." That part can be sung with so much more humor. Listen to the broadway rendition people! That's the greatest version.

Holy crap Renee Zellweiger is skinny. Maybe I watch Bridget Jones Diary too much.

Anyways, as I knew the movie would do it totally reminded me of why I love theatre. Good thing I'm majoring in it huh. I've never really been in a lot of musicals...except Where's Charlie, which is a seriously underrated musical.

Oh and I was a nazi wife in Sound of Music, but I think everyone and their dog has been in that musical. I've done tons of Shakespeare and other dramas though...I should really work on doing more comedy, why do I keep getting stuck with the serious roles? Do they know me at all?

Ah well.

Everybody's been calling me all of a sudden. Molly and Katrina called me last night before my midterm. I made plans to visit Molly this weekend and hang out with Katrina next week. Kirsten called me today and that's when we decided to see Chicago tonight. Also planning on doing something tomorrow. Gah, I'm getting all busy again...must work on this...

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland