Whoa, where'd that come from?
Written @ 1:25 a.m. on 2002-07-17

The current mood of Rain010@aol.com at www.imood.com

Viva Las Vegas...

Well, tomorrow we're leaving for Vegas--yay! Also it's a late flight so none of that leaving at 4am...ergh...I still have to get up somewhat early to take the nerdboy to get a haircut (I don't understand this...if you could see his excuse for hair you'd understand...*sigh*) Ah well, I'm still looking forward to everything, and I can hopefully squeeze a few souvineers out of my parents. *crosses fingers*

I'm not sure if Aunt Judy and the cousins are coming as well or not. I remember hearing something about them trying to make it out from Indiana, but I'm not sure if it's this Vegas trip, the one in September or both...I still have yet to finish packing, I prefer waiting till the last minute--with the exception of California trips of course, those takes weeks of preparation.

Dad claimed that I "chickened out" last time we were there about the bungee jump thing I wanted to do. Ch...liar, it was like over a hundred bucks! I have better plans for that amount of money than a bungee attatched to my ankles. It's so much cheaper at other places, I mean over a hundred dollars is really pushing it...though I'm not sure if that's an area I should skimp on...I'd still love to do it, but too bad I can't afford it. *shrug*

Evolution...

Another thing I discussed with Kirsten had a lot to do with high school things. We talked about things some of our old classmates had done and such. I asked her if she thought I would be recognized by a lot of old Salpointe people around campus and she said she doubted it because I had changed a great deal. I was very happy to hear this. Not only does it make me inconspicuous but also I've evolved!

I attribute a small percentage to college, mostly the theatre department. A huge part of it I owe singly to that 3-month period in California. All that independence and fun...Works wonders yes it does.

It amazes me how different I feel from what at times seems such a short time ago...I hardly recognize the person I was anymore. I don't look much different than I did senior year (vastly different from junior year, but that's a whole other story...) but I feel so immensely different. I like it, I hope I never stop changing.

Memory/Story of the day...

Well, since so little seems to be going on these days I thought every time I update I'll add a little memory or story that has popped into my head that day. I have many of these, so I doubt I'll ever run out, you poor readers...So here goes...

Well, it was about a year ago, when Shea was still going to the UofA and Julie was still living in town and I was up at NAU. So Shea was taking this Japanese course and she volunteered (crazy person I tell you) to do this speech contest for the class. So she created this whole story/speech about her fish...I forget it's name...could've been Harold or something similarly humorous for a fish.

So she has to say this speech at some convention up at Phoenix, at the rival school of Tucson: ASU, and she invites Julie and I. So I drove down that weekend from Flagstaff and Shea drove Julie and I up to Phoenix. Being Shea we were late as usual, and the amazing part is we actually got Shea to speed! Shocker it was. Anyways, we made it relatively on time I think.

So Shea is preparing or whatever and Julie and I go sit in the audience, and start listening to the speeches. Problem, Julie and I knew not a single word of Japanese. So we sat there with blank faces as all around us people murmured or laughed at whatever the people said. We only laughed at our own random jokes or blunders during the speeches (due to our usual goofing off) and then we'd get nasty glares from surrounding audience members. We didn't glare at them when they laughed! The audacity.

So all in all, a very random thing for a weekend. Probably one of the oddest things I've ever attended...I didn't even learn a word of Japanese! Though I saw how they drink tea...fascinating stuff...Ch...That wasn't the greatest story, but I swear I've got better, stay tuned...

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland