Getting even crazier in my old age...
Written @ 2:09 a.m. on 2002-09-03

Growin old...

So I did it...I turned 20. Yes, it was very scary and surreal. I'm still in denial about the whole thing. The actual day wasn't really so bad. I skipped my first class so I could sleep in on my birthday and my mom stayed home. She went shopping for my presents in the morning then took me out for lunch. Then she dropped me off at class...which was interesting I suppose. It's basically a discussion group for the History of Western Civilization class. We just talk about what we're "learning"...crazy gen eds...

At the end of class this guy and I were talking to the teacher about how to get the syllabus online. Then when we walked out he started up a conversation and introduced himself. He was pretty cute, but alas, only a freshman. Made me feel even older.

So mom picked me up and we went shopping for the party the next day. Bought decorations and such and then picked up some things for dinner that night. Dad made my favorite: chicken, rice and rolls. Yum! Then afterwards I opened presents and blew out candles on my rice krispee treat cake.

I was very thankful for what I got...I got the ultimate...a singing, hula-dancing Homer!!! Oh...the immense coolness...Also got a lot of other cartoony things. All in all a pretty great birthday.

Then there was the party...

The next day I woke up, made a few calls, took a shower and packed. I drove over to Shea's granparents, where she was staying, and picked her up. We drove over to the Embassy Suites and chilled in the lobby. Josh showed up in a few minutes and then a few minutes later Cristina arrived. We sat and talked and joked in the lobby until my parents finally showed up to check us all in. We re-parked and dragged all the games I brought and such to the room.

All four of us played games, listened to music, had a parachute man contest and just talked until Josh had to leave for work. Then Cristina, Shea and I changed into pjs and wandered next door to the Toys R Us and goofed off around there. They really have some scary toys out now a days. I am very happy to report they're finally bringin back the old school cartoons though, bout damn time!

Afterwards we wandered over back to my car and drove next door to Target. Where we saw one of the old high school geeks as a security gaurd. We giggled incessantly and ducked out of view every time he crossed our path.

Cristina: "Ack, there he is again! Over here!"

Alli: "Oh pepsi eh? Would you look at that...how much sugar does that say?"

Then we returned back to the hotel to play some more games, eat some pizza, watch some tv and wait for Kirsten to arrive. We wandered over to happy hour for free drinks and munchies and chilled in that room. Kirsten called my cell phone saying she was there and I stepped outside and waved to her from accross the pool. We got her a drink and some pretzels and chatted for a while before going back to the room to play more games, watch more tv and talk lots more.

After Kirsten had to leave we watched some more TV then ordered Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. Enjoyed watching that (for the second time) and then afterwards talked some more then finally crashed out. Awoke to annoying mother pestering me to get up and we all yawned and lounged around watching more tv and chatting some more. Finally got up and ready to leave. Crisina left and then I drove Shea back to her grandparents and I went back home to lounge around the house and try out my new Sims expansion packs.

Crazy labor day...

So thankfully I had nothing today thanks to that odd holiday labor day. Slept in really late and enjoyed it thoroughly. When I did wake up I just lounged around and played a great deal more with Sims and such. Ignored the bad tv that comes with crazy holidays like this...

Then Shea called and after looking at the lack of decent movies in the cheap theaters decided to stick with our trusty Barnes and Nobles trip. Met up there and started browsing as usual, found a really cool book with Castles...

Alli: "Dude, look at this one, looks like a villain lives there. I'd want one like that, a bad guy castle."

Shea: "No kidding. That'd be cool."

Alli: "Yeah, and then the villagers would talk and say, 'It looks like some evil genius lives there!' 'Yeah, one does!' 'Ooo, do you see them a lot?' 'Oh no, they're also very brooding.'"

Shea: "Yeah, none of those fairy tale castles for us."

I picked up The Doh of Homer and we wandered around while I read excerpts from it. It is really cool, but being like $17 that's about all we could do. Found a bunch of other good books, but again, so expensive! Crazy capatilism...

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland