Destined to become a hermit...
Written @ 11:59 p.m. on 2002-09-27

I am a Rock

A winter's day,
In a deep and dark December.
I am alone.
Gazing from my window,
To the streets below,
On a feshly fallen silent shroud of snow...

I am a rock.
I am an island.

I build walls.
A fortress steep and mighty
That none may penetrate.
I have no need of friendship,
Friendship causes pain,
It's laughter and it's loving I disdain.

I am a rock.
I am an island.

Don't talk of love.
Well, I've heard the word before.
It's sleeping in my memory.
I wont disturb the slumber
Of feelings that have died,
If I never loved I never would've cried.

I am a rock.
I am an island.

I have my books,
And my poetry to protect me.
I am shielded in my armor.
Hiding in my room,
Safe within my womb,
I touch no one and no one touches me.

I am a rock.
I am an island.

And a rock feels no pain,
And an island never cries.

Damn right.

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland