What's with all the hooey?
Written @ 10:48 p.m. on 2003-01-12

Family is a pain...

Yesterday dad and I drove up to Phoenix to see mom, which really didn't go well. It's trying and all with her but the worst part is just when dad blows up at me for no reason. I mentioned to him that nerdboy told me the car was out of gas when we were driving back and I got a big ole helping of lecture with a huge side of bitching. He's just like that straw and I'm the camel's back. I don't get that saying...

I�m sure somewhere I�ve heard that a family will always be a source of strength, or something to this effect. Well, it�s a load of hooey. A big stinking load of hooey if I ever heard one and believe me I�ve heard a great deal of hooey in my time. This is just chock full of hooeyness. At least in my case anyways. My family is what drains my strength away these days. Hence why I really need to escape.

I remember in my morality class in high school my teacher brother Tom told us this story about "nazi babies". Apparently the nazis took babies for tests, one of them being isolation. They'd raise a baby without any human contact whatsoever. They'd feed it, keep it comfortable and healthy but they'd never give it love. These babies died. Isn't that freaky? That we need human contact so much? Bit disturbing. I guess that's why there's so damn many of us. Billions of options...

Argh, not again...

So classes start up again on Wednesday...I only have two days of freedom left! That's just not fair...I need more time. Can't we have another holiday? I'm sure there was something very special that went on about this time so many years ago that we should be celebrating by doing nothing.

I don't really have any notion of just what kind of scheduele it's gonna be. Last semester I only went to my gen eds for the quizzes, tests or homeworks. I had three gen eds so that was half of my classes. The biggest pain was just having a class at 9 am three days a week. I'm not a morning class person, it's not a pretty thing...nor a sane one.

It hasn't sunken in yet. I'm in denial that I'm gonna be forced to attned class and do stuff soon. Probably because we're still in this damn hotel. The latest news is that we wont be in the house until the end of this coming up week. I'll have to go to class for three days from the hotel. That's just pesky...Even when we do get back in it doesn't look like my room will be ready. Apparently they're having some trouble getting me a window. Odd...

New perspective...

On that trip yesterday I read Hiroshima by John Hersey. It was just the tale of a handful of survivors that sometimes interweaved with one another. Gives one a new perspective. I mean, I know I've been dealt a whole lot of crap in the past few months but at least I can say I didn't have an atomic bomb dropped on me right? That's something...

Another good thing it did to me was remind me of why I wanted to work for FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) for a few years. I always wanted to be there to help when disaster struck. While this comes from my will to help others it also has a great deal to do with my stubborness. I just refuse to let anyone or anything tell me what to do. Including disasters.

So why sould I limit this stubborness to natural disasters? I should have the same mindset for the rest of the kind as well. For some reason the natural kind has always been more easy to deal with in my mind but I think I can work with the rest as well. Bring it on.

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland