The word concussion gets thrown around a lot these days...
Written @ 12:33 a.m. on 2003-02-14

Today was very weird. It started off fairly good though. I woke up and there was this beautiful storm raging outside and I just thought yay! What a way to start a day! Unfortunately it was 8:32 am so that's just not the right time for me to start my day. Far too early.

Anyways, driving to class was annoying, everybody's a wuss when it rains and drives annoyingly slower than usual. They already drive slow enough in this damn city. So yes, I was running pretty late.

I finally park and stuff and have to wade, yes literally wade, to class. My socks and a good three inches of the bottom of my jeans were completely immersed in water and the rest of me just got soaked from the rain falling from the sky. Now, none of this mattered to me much because I love storms enough to be ok with that.

Unfortunately, I was late to class so I was running to the building and had my hood down so I couldn't see this low hanging tree branch and ran full speed into it. I struggled to remain concious and make it to class. That was really weird...I mean, I've dangled on the edge of conciousness before but not like that.

Anyhoos, so after class ended early I drove around trying to find the radio station where I won a Sweet Home Alabama DVD from winning a pop culture quiz live on the radio yesterday. Whoo! The dj said I did really well on air too. Damn straight. Well, it took me a while to find it, but I finally did, picked up the dvd and headed to work.

When I got there I told everyone my story and then got to filing. You know what I noticed, I have a lot of trouble remembering the alphabet with a head injury. It was so weird. When I started feeling increasingly dizzy I finally just called it a day and said I was going home. It was there my mother informed me that I had a concussion and made me stay in bed all day. She's a registered nurse so she did all these test dealies to make sure. Like with my pupils and stuff.

I'm all for staying in bed but now I'm all antsy and...well, yeah, just antsy mostly. Oh and in pain. The head really hurts. Stupid head.

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland