A Christmas Story...
Written @ 5:09 pm on Friday, Jan. 02, 2004

Okay, I feel like I should get this all down before I forget it all, even though it'll probably bore you all to death...

I spent the whole week at my cousin�s, Brad, apartment. His brother, my other cousin Craig, stayed there as well along with my little brother. My girl cousin Jenny came in on Tuesday right before Brad�s Christmas party at his apartment. Christmas Eve Jenny was up early and asked if I wanted to go to the mall. We dragged the nerdboy and Craig along too because they still had shopping to do.

Jenny and I went to get French manicures while the boys ate and did their last minute shopping. It took a lot longer than we expected and when we were done we went to find them half-asleep on a bench waiting for us. Jenny and I had lunch then did our last minute shopping and fled the mall. It was all freezing and snow flurrying outside, which was terribly cool.

Craig still had to get a gift at Best Buy but it looked scarily busy there. We got into the parking lot and Craig and I hopped out leaving the nerdboy and Jenny in the car. Craig and I got what we needed in like 2 minutes and were done but when we got outside we couldn�t see them in the sea of cars anywhere. It was a monstrous traffic jam in the parking lot, bumper to bumper barely moving in and out. It took us about 15-20 minutes to find them bitching about how freezing I was and hopping up and down to keep warm. When we finally did they were pretty deep in the jam. It took us like another half-hour just to get out of the parking lot. They never even parked it was THAT insane. Stupid parking lots.

Anyways, we went back to Brad�s to get ready for mass. My Aunt demanded that we all dress up so we all had to get all dolled up. Now, I�m not a religious person, I suffered through Catholic school for 12 years and I never go to mass anymore and apparently the rest of my family was very similar. My Aunt should�ve never brought us to mass; though it was pretty hilarious.

At one point my brother said aloud: �Goddamnit!� Then shortly after something made Jenny say: �Jesus Christ!� All the while my brother and Craig were random pictures of nothing back and forth on their picture phones and Brad and I were snickering at whatever joke we happened to be telling at the moment.

Brad: �How much would you give me if I went up to that mike and yelled �What�s up motherfuckers?!�

Alli: (laughs) �Uh�about 20 bucks.�

Little later�

Mom: (taps Alli on shoulder from behind) �You�re going to receive communion right?�

Alli: �Why not, I am pretty hungry.�

Then�

Alli: (coming back from communion) �Could�ve used some ketchup.�

I think though that if you�re ever gonna waste your time with organized religion though, you really should go Catholic. I mean if you�re gonna do it then go all out. Follow endless crazy complicated rules and just go crazy with it. Go Catholics; you�re all nuts.

After mass we all went back to my Aunt�s and slowly started opening presents. Unfortunately my other cousin Kari and her four kids arrived soon and they hogged all the present glory. Ch. Eventually we all went back to Brad�s and tried to watch Pirates of the Caribbean, which I had just gotten him for Christmas, but we all passed out like 20 mins in.

Christmas Day was pretty good too; we slept in pretty late and then got sorta dressed up again and went over for Christmas lunch/dinner. It was good, but we were still stuck at a �kids table� seriously, what�s that about? There were rolls though and ketchup so it was all good. We had planned on going ice skating, but they were all closed. What the hell? Does the word capitalism mean nothing to you people anymore? Do you not want oodles upon oodles of cash? It�s madness I tell you!

Where was I? Oh yes, so no skating and no LotR:RotK either! Slacker cousins were too tired to go sit through a 3 and a half hour long movie so we all went back to Brad�s and they got trashed instead. Oy.

It was still a helluva lot of fun. There�s more I�m forgetting�most importantly the fact that I got battery operated socks. Oh yeah.

previous | next

navigation
now
then
me
guestbook
cast
cliques
dreams
quizzes
lists
pictures
ramblings
rings
surveys
design
diaryland